2023 Minnesota Scholastic Art Awards
Feb 25 2023 | 10am - 5pm

333 E River Road
Minneapolis, MN 55455
United States

collection of art with text "2023 Minnesota Scholastic Art Awards"

Additional Details

2023 Minnesota Scholastic Art Awards Ceremony
Weisman Art Museum
Saturday February 25: Ceremonies from 10 a.m. - 5 p.m. 

The Scholastic Art and Writing Awards recognize the vision, ingenuity, and talent of our nation’s youth and provide opportunities for creative teens to be celebrated. The University of Miinnesota is proud to be a part of the Minnesota Scholastic Art Program and its recognition of Minnesota’s creative teens. Join us for an awards ceremony at the Weisman to celebrate the 2023 Minnesota's Scholastic Art Awards-winners! 

Details and Speakers:

Ceremony 1 | 10:00 a.m. | Keynote: Russ White, artist, writer, & Communications Specialist, Department of Art, University of Minnesota

Ceremony 2 | 11:30 a.m. | Keynote: Chotsani Elaine Dean, artist, Assistant Professor, Ceramics, University of Minnesota

Ceremony 3 | 1:00 p.m. | Keynote: Anne Labovitz, internationally recognized Twin Cities-based artist

Ceremony 4 | 2:30 p.m. | Keynote: Peng Wu, Twin Cities-based social practice artist

Ceremony 5 | 4:00 p.m.| Keynote: Carolyn Swiszcz, critically acclaimed Twin Cities-based artist

MSAA Exhibition
UMN Regis Center for Art
January 31 - Saturday, February 25

The University of Minnesota presents the 2023 Minnesota Scholastic Art Awards (MSAA), with an exhibition of artworks by hundreds of Gold Key student award winners and a digital slideshow of Silver Key student award winners from across the state of Minnesota at the Regis Center for Art and an Awards Ceremony at the Weisman Art Museum. The presentation of the MSAA exhibition at the Regis Center for Art, and the awards ceremony at the Weisman Art Museum, demonstrates the high level of achievement by art students in Minnesota, and the exceptional academic resources at the University of Minnesota for the study, practice, presentation, and interpretation of the visual arts. This is the ninth consecutive year the University of Minnesota has hosted the Minnesota Scholastic Art Awards and its collaboration with the Art Educators of Minnesota is emblematic of the University’s commitment to furthering the educational and artistic opportunities for young people in Minnesota.

The Scholastic Art & Writing Awards - Celebrating 100 Years

MSAA is part of the Scholastic Art & Writing Awards – the longest running, most prestigious competition and largest source of scholarships for creative teenagers in the United States. The Awards program was created in 1923 by Maurice R. Robinson, founder of Scholastic Corporation, and has been administered by the Alliance for Young Artists & Writers since 1994. It has an impressive legacy and a noteworthy roster of past winners including Andy Warhol, Sylvia Plath, Truman Capote, Richard Avedon, Joyce Carol Oates, and many others. The Awards are open to all students in grades 7 through 12 from public, private and home schools throughout the U.S. (and its territories), as well as American-run schools abroad and community programs serving eligible student populations.

The Alliance for Young Artists and Writers gives out over a quarter of a million dollars in scholarships to top award-winning creative teens to help fund their continued education. Each year, 15 Portfolio Gold Medalists receive $10,000 awards, representing the highest level of achievement for graduating seniors. In addition, national award-winning seniors are eligible for scholarships from a network of 60-plus arts institutes, universities, colleges, and summer programs, which annually earmark well over $5 million in financial aid and scholarships for Scholastic Award winners. The Scholastic Art Awards are also recognized by the Association of Independent Colleges of Art and Design, a consortium of leading art and design colleges in the United States, as an effective way for artistic students to develop successful portfolios for college admission.

The Minnesota Scholastic Art Awards program is organized and administered by the Art Educators of Minnesota (AEM), a non-profit organization dedicated to supporting the professional interests and concerns of visual and media arts educators at all levels. AEM supports advocacy for quality arts education for all learners, supports visual art student events that recognize artistic expression and quality, encourages professional growth and collaboration by providing networking opportunities to share ideas and information, informs its members about current trends and issues, fosters leadership, and acknowledges professional excellence in visual and media arts education.


Sponsored by the Art Educators of Minnesota, the Department of Art, the Katherine E. Nash Gallery, the Weisman Art Museum at the University of Minnesota and Wet Paint Artists’ Materials and Framing of St. Paul.

Wet Paint Inclusion Scholarship

Now in its third year, the Wet Paint Inclusion Scholarship provided by Wet Paint Artists’ Materials and Framing of St. Paul, is a cash award made to a first year student at the University of Minnesota who participated in the Minnesota Scholastic Art Awards, with additional consideration given to underrepresented communities. Additional support is provided by Beth Bergman.